The Office for Research & Economic Development will celebrate research by honoring sponsored reserach awardees for their first UA awards at the First Awardee Luncheon.

Interim VP for Research & Economic Development, Dr. John C. Higginbotham, is spearheading a Celebrate Research movement to promote, enhance and generate excitement for research activities and opportunities on campus. Our first Celebrate Research event, the First Awardee Luncheon, honors those who received their first sponsored research award (at UA) during the 2017 – 2018 academic year.

Lunch for awardees and their deans and department chairs will begin at noon in the Hotel Capstone Ballroom, followed by a panel discussion, along with a question and answer exchange with the audience.

October 30, 2018

12:00 – 2:00 p.m.

Hotel Capstone Ballroom

320 Paul W. Bryant Drive
Tuscaloosa, AL 35401






Expert Panel

Moderator, Dr. John C. Higginbotham, will ask our panel of experts questions about their personal research experiences.

John E Lochman, PhD, ABPP, is a retired Professor and former Doddridge Saxon Chairholder in Clinical Psychology.

Claudia Mewes, PhD, is an Associate Professor in the Department of Physics & Astronomy in the College of Arts & Sciences.

Gregory B. Thompson, PhD, is a Professor in the Department of Melallurgical and Materials Engineering in the College of Engineering.

Laura Reed, PhD, is an Associate Professor in the Department of Biological Sciences.

Greg Szulczewski, PhD, is an Associate Professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry.